Red Squirrel Press runs two annual competitions, the James Kirkup Memorial Poetry Pamphlet Competition and the Sara Park Memorial Short Story Competition.

James Kirkup Memorial Poetry Competition.

James Kirkup (1918 – 2009) was a prolific poet and translator. His work includes several dozen poetry collections, six volumes of autobiography and over a hundred monographs of original work and translations. Red Squirrel Press was proud to publish his final collection of new poetry, Marsden Bay.

Sheila Wakefield launched the James Kirkup Annual Memorial Poetry Competition shortly after his death to enable his memory to live on and to enable poets, both new and accomplished, to be published. The prize is publication of a 28 page pamphlet, the winner receives 50 free copies.

The winner of the first, 2009, competition, judged by Terry Kelly, Tom Kelly and Alistair Robinson, was Lesley Mountain and her pamphlet, Dance of the Disappointed, which was launched in 2011.

The winner of the second, 2010, competition, judged by Kathleen Kenny, Andrew McMillan and Ian McMillan was Martin Bennett and his pamphlet, Unlike the Jungle Pheasant, which was published in 2012.

Maggie Whyte from Newcastle won the third, 2011, competition, judged by Colin Will and her pamphlet, No Mud, No Lotus was published in May 2013.

Nikki Magennis from Glasgow won the fourth, 2012, competition judged by Anne Connolly and Elizabeth Rimmer. Her pamphlet will be launched in April 2014.

For details of how to enter and full rules go to the 'more info' links below.

Sara Park Memorial Short Story Competition
Sara Park sadly died in September 2010, after a brief illness. In October 2011 Diamond Twig published her poetry collection, Inviolate and at the same time Red Squirrel Press published her short story collection, Edith Popkiss Laughed Out Loud, both edited by Kathleen Kenny.

The first Sara Park Annual Short Story Competition was launched in October 2012, the judges are Kathleen Kenny and Ellen Phethean. For details of how to enter and full rules go to the 'more info' links below.